Select Page


Washington, D.C. – Congratulations to the thirteen students, from ten different campuses, who were awarded electronic media scholarships from the Broadcast Education Association’s 2015-2016 competition.  The winners were selected by the BEA Scholarship Committee at its November 8, 2014 meeting in Washington, D.C., announced Pete Orlik, committee chair.

Recipients of the 2015-2016 scholarships include:

Abe Voron Scholarships – Sponsored by the Abe Voron Committee

Matthew Barros — University of Nebraska/Omaha

Maureen Christensen – Illinois State University


John Bayliss Award – Sponsored by the John Bayliss Foundation

Elena Souris – Trinity University


Walter Patterson Scholarships – Sponsored by the National Association of Broadcasters

Conor Boyd – Illinois State University

Erin McCarthy – Illinois State University


Vincent Wasilewski Scholarship – Sponsored by Patrick Communications, LLC

Ian Murphy – University of North Carolina


BEA Founders Scholarships – Sponsored by BEA

Aubrey Bishop – Pike’s Peak Community College

Lindsey Blumell – Texas Tech University


Nielsen Company Scholarships – Sponsored by the Nielsen Company

Kirsten Pieri-May – Arkansas State University

Kathleen Serie – University of South Dakota

Jennifer Tintner – University of Florida

Jennifer Weingart – Central Michigan University


Richard Eaton Foundation Scholarship – Sponsored by the Richard Eaton Foundation

Kathryn Havrilla – Central Michigan University


BEA scholarships are awarded to outstanding students for study on campuses that are institutional members of the organization.  The 2016-2017 competition begins in February 2015.  More Information.