Select Page

2019-2020 Award & Competition Deadlines


2020/2021 BEA Scholarshipsoffering $28,000 in scholarships to both undergraduate and graduate students attending BEA member institutions.  Applications and information are online.  Deadline: Oct. 14, 2019

PILOT Media Technology & Information Scholarship offers Five scholarships; $5,000 each.  Current sophomores, juniors, seniors & graduate students can apply.  Online applications ONLY. Sponsored by PILOT Deadline: Oct. 14, 2019

BEA Film 48 invites BEA Student Media Clubs to unleash their creativity for #BEAfilm48, a 48-hour film festival taking place October 25-27 & November 1-3, 2019.  Enter by: Oct. 18, 2019

The BEA Festival of Media Arts is an international digital media and broadcast competition for faculty and students from around the world. Work is showcased at BEA’s convention in Las Vegas.  “Best of” winners receive $1,000. Sponsored by the King Family Foundation. Submissions Accepted: Nov. 15 – Dec. 15, 2019 

The Dr. Marjorie Yambor Signature Station Competition are sponsored by BEA’s Student Media Advisors division.  The competition invites submissions of superior protocol and practices at student-run, faculty-advised college radio and television stations. Accepting Submissions: Nov. 15 – Dec. 15, 2019

Disrupt the News Challenge – produced in partnership with TVNewsCheck is a competition for student teams to reinvent broadcast news.  Blow it up – deconstruct it – and then…create, produce and re-package news content you want to watch. Over $10,000 in cash and prizes to be awarded. Submissions Accepted: Dec. 1 – Dec. 15, 2019

Broadcast Historian AwardThe Library of American Broadcasting Foundation (LABF) and BEA partner for the annual Broadcast Historian Award.  With the support of LABF, BEA awards $5,000 to an educator who has produced creative work specifically related to broadcast history.  To qualify for the 2020 award, the work must have been produced between Jan. 1, 2017 and Nov. 30, 2019.  Deadline: Dec. 16, 2019

New Faculty Research Grant (NFRG) seeks to promote scholarship through achievement by untenured broadcast and electronic media faculty. A cash grant of $1,000 will be rewarded for research projects.  Deadline: Jan. 13, 2020

Kenneth Harwood Outstanding Dissertation Award, now in its 30th year, offers $1,000 for the outstanding Ph.D. dissertation in broadcasting and electronic media. The award was established through gifts started by Professor Kenneth Harwood and donations from friends of BEA.  Deadline: Jan. 13, 2020

Distinguished Education Service Award (DESA), in its 38th year, is awarded to an individual who has made significant and lasting contributions to the American system of electronic media education by a singular achievement or continuing service of electronic media education. Deadline: Jan. 13, 2020

Lifetime Achievement in Scholarship nominees should have made a significant contribution to research and scholarship involving broadcast and electronic media. Contributions should be evidenced by related publication in books and journals, over at least twenty years. Deadline: Jan. 13, 2020

The Leibner Cooper Grant for Creative Productions on the History of Media Grant awards a $2,500 grant to a faculty member who is producing a documentary, news story, multimedia project or sports production focused on historical issues, figures and/or events related to media. Deadline: Feb. 1, 2020

BEA2020 MMJ Program are a team of undergraduate and graduate students with the task of reporting on #BEAvegas and NAB Show by using and infusing a variety of story-telling methods –text, audio, video, pictures and graphics (or infographics). Submission Deadline: Feb. 14, 2020

BEA Audio Shorts Competition invites BEA Student Media Club Members to create compelling audio stories in 48-hours on February 22-24, 2020 – #BEAshortdocs.  Enter by: Feb. 14, 2020

2020 NATPE Summer Faculty Development Grant is awarded to eligible full-time teaching faculty in appropriate academic programs at two- & four-year institutions.  Visit – and look for EDUCATION for more info.  Deadline: April 14, 2020