Select Page

Deadline: November 2, 2018



PILOT, an NAB technology innovation initiative, has announced it will offer up to 10 scholarships of $5,000 each to current college sophomores, juniors, seniors entering graduate school and continuing graduate students, for pursuit of studies related to media technology and innovation. The scholarships are being administered in partnership with BEA.

Eligible academic areas include broadcast television or radio engineering/technology, sports media production or other broadcast content creation, web/online media, mobile media, media-related IT, audience measurement and media technology research.

Application Procedures:

Complete the online application by 11:59 pm ET on 11/2/18

The application form requires:
1) personal contact information
2) academic history
3) supportive statements from two references
4) 250-word statement of career goals
5) listing of relevant accomplishments and experience
6) college transcripts

If you have questions regarding the application preparation or submission process please email Michael Bruce at or Heather Birks at

Terms & Conditions

College Transcripts:

If you have attended more than one school, a transcript is needed from each institution, unless work at a previous school is included in your current transcript.
Unofficial student copies of transcripts are acceptable if clearly legible and if your name appears on them. (Some on-line transcripts lack student names and are unacceptable.)

Reference Letters:

Submit TWO letters of recommendation.  At least one letter must be written by an electronic media professor and the other may be from either a professor or an industry professional.  Both must be submitted on the reference’s letterhead.


Criteria for Selection:

The applicant should be able to show substantial evidence of superior academic performance and potential to be an outstanding in media technology and innovation.  There should be compelling evidence that the applicant possesses high integrity and a well-articulated sense of personal and professional responsibility.


One semester grants are NOT provided.  Scholarships must be used exclusively for tuition, student fees, university bookstore course purchases, dormitory and related items eligible to be charged to a student’s official campus account.  Current scholarship holders are not eligible to reapply in the year following their award.

All scholarships must be applied to study at a campus where at least one department is a BEA institutional member.  Go to and click on Scholarships to check if a campus is an institutional member or call (202) 602-0587.