Writing Division | BEA - The Broadcast Education Association
Select Page

Writing Division

The mission of the Writing Division is to provide a forum for discussion of issues pertinent to writing for electronic and other media; to develop understanding of media writing and the teaching of writing through scholarly research to be presented at panels and in an annual competition for scholarly papers at the BEA convention; to encourage student writing through an annual, national scriptwriting competition; to encourage creative writing by faculty through an annual, faculty scriptwriting competition; and to maintain a web page with a collection of media writing resources such as syllabi, scripts, grants, competitions and links to other writing resources on the web.
Division Bylaws | Division Website | Writing Division’s Facebook Page | Newsletters


Chair: John McHale
Illinois State University

Paper Chair: Michael Whalen
Santa Clara University

Recording Secretary: Mary Beth O’Connor
Purdue University Northwest

Newsletter Editor: Edward Fink
California State University, Fullerton

Faculty Scriptwriting Chair: Jonathan D. Mabee
Missouri State University

Student Scriptwriting Co-Chair: Marty Shafer
Oakland University

Student Scriptwriting Co-Chair: Kyle Bergersen
University of Oklahoma