Sports Division | BEA - The Broadcast Education Association
Select Page

Sports Division

Welcome to BEA’s Sports Division, established in April 2008. For a long time sports wore the tag of the “toy store.” No serious study of the media could include a look at sports. But, times have changed. Academics as well as non-academics have seen that, for better or worse, sports are an essential element of U.S. and worldwide culture. This has led to a surge in academic organizations that recognize and embrace sports as a legitimate intellectual pursuit. A number of academic journals have been developed all devoted to sports, and schools that have sports-related classes, and even majors, are growing in number as we speak. All of those things helped spur BEA to begin a Sports Division.


Sports Division Bylaws | Division Website


Chair: Jared Johnson
Oklahoma State University

Vice Chair: Chris Bacon
Middle Tennessee State University

Paper Chair: Kyle Miller
University of South Dakota

Communications Chair: Nick Artman
Slippery Rock University

Festival Leadership

Senior Festival Chair: Eric Esterline
University of Florida

Faculty Festival Chair: John Shrader
University of Nebraska – Lincoln

Student Festival Co-Chair: Suzy Smith
Ball State University

 Student Festival Co-Chair: Colin Walker
Valdosta State University