Production Aesthetics & Criticism Division | BEA - The Broadcast Education Association
Select Page

Production Aesthetics & Criticism Division

The Production Aesthetics & Criticism Division’s purpose is the improvement of teaching and the fostering of research and innovations in audio and video production, aesthetics and criticism. The division provides a forum for the exchange of teaching techniques and material; the presentation of juried and non-juried scholarly research; the presentation of faculty and student productions; the demonstration and discussion of innovations in production equipment and techniques; and as a means of evaluation through juried competition of scholarly research and faculty production. Members are involved in the supervision of the only collegiate, association-wide, peer review faculty production competition, that provides valuable feedback and credibility often needed in promotion and tenure reviews.


Division Bylaws | PAC’s Facebook Page

Division Leadership

Chair: Stephen Price
University of Central Missouri

Vice Chair: Robert Gordon
Middle Tennessee State University

Communications Coordinator: James Lohrey
Shippensburg University



Festival Leadership

Senior Faculty Film & Video Competition Chair: Marilyn Terzic
Université du Québec à Montréal

Senior Student Film & Video Competition Chair: Ginger Blackstone
Harding University

Animation/Experimental/Mixed Chair: John Conway
Lynn University

Instructional/Educational Chair: Phillip Powell
Trinity Christian College

Music Video Chair: Houston Wells
University of Florida

Narrative Video Co-Chair: John Doyle
Cabrini University

Narrative Video Co-Chair: Ronald Johnson
Oklahoma Baptist University

Spots Chair (between 15 and 90 seconds): Bruce Getz
Columbus State University

Promotional Chair (Promo material from 90 seconds to 30 minutes): Dave Madsen
Morningside College

Studio Chair (multi-camera or live-to-tape): Angela Criscoe
Georgia College & State University