News Division | BEA - The Broadcast Education Association
Select Page

News Division

The News Division’s goals are to provide the scholar, the media practitioner and the citizen with a better understanding of the role and functions of the broadcast journalist in a free society. They seek to improve communication and understanding among working professionals, scholars and the public concerning broadcast journalism. These goals are achieved through sponsorship and encouragement of scholarly teaching and inquiry in the areas of radio and television journalism and through support of teaching and public service activities supporting free expression as stated by the First Amendment of the U.S. Constitution.


Division Bylaws |  News Division Facebook Page | Follow us on Twitter @BEANewsDivision


Chair: Julian M. Rodriguez
University of Texas-Arlington

Vice Chair, Panels: Iveta Imre
University of Mississippi

Vice Chair, Papers: Carey Higgins-Dobney
California State University, Fresno

Vice Chair, Communication: Keren Henderson 
Syracuse University 


Festival Leadership

Senior Competition Chair: Chandra Clark
University of Alabama

Faculty News Chair: Brian Rackham
Northern Arizona University 

Student Radio Chair: Tanya Ott
University of Alabama 

Student Television Feature Chair (3:00 or under): James Schiffman
Georgia College & State University 

Student Television Feature Long Chair (over 3:00): Christine Eschenfelder
Middle Tennessee State University 

Student Television Hard News Chair: Danielle Deavours
University of Montevallo 

Student TV Anchor Chair: Bob Gould
Michigan State University 

Student TV Weathercaster Chair: Heather Dunn
Arizona State University 

Student Newscast-3 Days or Less Chair: Kirstin Pellizzaro
University of South Carolina 

Student Newscast-4 Days or More Chair: Bruce Finklea
University of Montevallo 

Student Newsmagazine Chair: Gina Baleria
Sonoma State University