Lifetime Achievement in Scholarship | BEA - The Broadcast Education Association
Select Page

Lifetime Achievement in Scholarship

Nomination Deadline: January 15, 2023
Click here for the Call for Nominations

BEA’s Lifetime Achievement In Scholarship Award recognizes significant contributions to research and scholarship involving broadcast and electronic media.  Recipients are evidenced by related extensive publication in books and leading journals, for at least twenty years. Awards are presented at a ceremony during the BEA annual conference in Las Vegas each April.

Previous Winners

2023 Janette Dates, Howard University
2022 Bob Tiemens , University of Utah
James Potter, University of California at Santa Barbara
Matthew Bunker, the University of Alabama (Emeritus)
Rebecca Ann Lind, University of Illinois at Chicago
Don Godfrey, Arizona State University
Stuart N. Brotman, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
James G. Webster, PhD, Northwestern University
Dennis Davis, Pennsylvania State University
2013 Dan O’Hair, University of Kentucky
2012 Dale Kunkel Ph.D., University of Arizona
2011 Thomas R. Lindlof, University of Kentucky
2010 Nancy Signorielli, University of Delaware
2009 Alan B. Albarran, University of North Texas
2008 James E. Fletcher, University of Georgia
Michael C. Keith, Boston College
2007 James A. Anderson, University of Utah
Donald R. Browne, University of Minnesota
Douglas Gomery, University of Maryland
Alan M. Rubin, Kent State University
2006 Joseph Dominick, University of Georgia
Susan Tyler Eastman, University of Indiana (Emeritus)
Jennings Bryant, The University of Alabama
Joanne Cantor, University of Wisconsin (Emeritus)
2005 Erik Barnouw, (Posthumously)
Edward Bliss, (Posthumously)
Bradley S. Greenberg, Michigan State University
Sydney W. Head, (Posthumously)
Christopher H. Sterling, George Washington University