Select Page

BEA is pleased to announce that Dr. Arthur D. Soto-Vásquez, Texas A&M International University, is the recipient of BEA’s 2023 New Faculty Research Grant.  

Dr. Arthur D. Soto-Vásquez is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychology and Communication at Texas A&M International University, where he teaches courses in political communication, Latino/a/x communication studies, and qualitative research while serving on the board of directors for the Laredo Film Society. Before coming to TAMIU, Soto-Vásquez was an Adjunct Professor for the El Paso Community College, teaching communication studies and mass media courses. 

Soto-Vásquez, from El Paso, Texas, earned his BA in Political Science with Latin honors from St. Edwards University in 2012, his MA in Media Studies from the University of Texas in 2015, and his PhD in Communication from American University in 2018. He is the recipient of two Top Paper Awards (1st and 2nd Place) from the National Communication Association, Theater, Film, and New Media Division. 

His research interests revolve around the relationship between digital media, popular culture, and identity making with his most recent works focusing on U.S. Latinx political and health communication. His first book, Mobilizing the Latinx Vote, was published by Routledge in 2020 and he is currently co-editing a second book entitled Migrant World Making under contract with Michigan State University Press. 

BEA’s New Faculty Research Grant (NFRG) seeks to promote scholarship through achievement by untenured broadcast and electronic media faculty. A cash grant of $1,000 was awarded to Dr. Soto-Vásquez. Initial funding for this grant was provided by Rebecca Hayden, winner of BEA’s Distinguished Education Service Award in 1993, and long-time editor/publisher of broadcast and media books at Wadsworth Publishing Co. The grant honors the memory of Sydney W. Head (1913-1991) and Harrison B. Summers (1894-1980), two key pioneers in broadcast education.   

Verified by ExactMetrics