Select Page

Presented By

TVNewsCheck and BEA present the Disrupt the News Challenge…..

Deadline to sign up teams: December 5
Deadline to submit entries: Extended Through December 18

The CHALLENGE is to reinvent broadcast news.  Blow it up.  Deconstruct it.  And then…create, produce and re-package news content you want to watch.  Show us how YOU want to consume broadcast news.

Teams of student journalists are challenged to develop unique ways of presenting news that sticks within the general programming flow of a TV station – but makes the traditional format more attractive to younger audiences, including millennials.  Submissions can include a mix of news, sports, weather, entertainment, advertising and promotion.

Entries should provide video of the alternative newscast, and include online and social media components, if applicable.  Submissions can be of any length and designed for any medium or multimedia. The entry form provides more detail.

Schools can have multiple teams enter the competition and there is no cost to participate.  Entrants will receive instructions for submitting entries when they sign up a team.

Winners will be showcased and highlighted during BEA’s 2019 annual convention, and possibly NAB Show, in Las Vegas. A representative from each winning team will be invited to participate on a BEA convention panel to explore the reasoning behind their approach.

Prizes will be awarded to the best news entry for first, second and third place – $3,000, $2,000 and $1,000 will be awarded to these top three teams.  In addition, students from each winning team (up to three people per team) will be provided with complimentary convention registrations, hotel rooms, $400 flight allowances and a $100 gift card (per person) to help cover expenses during their trip to Las Vegas.

TVNewsCheck and BEA will expose student journalists’ work to the TV industry through significant promotion during the convention, and at and After the convention, winning videos and team profiles will be available online.