Writing Division | BEA - The Broadcast Education Association
Select Page

Writing Division

The mission of the Writing Division is to provide a forum for discussion of issues pertinent to writing for electronic and other media; to develop understanding of media writing and the teaching of writing through scholarly research to be presented at panels and in an annual competition for scholarly papers at the BEA convention; to encourage student writing through an annual, national scriptwriting competition; to encourage creative writing by faculty through an annual, faculty scriptwriting competition; and to maintain a web page with a collection of media writing resources such as syllabi, scripts, grants, competitions and links to other writing resources on the web.
Division Bylaws | Division Website | Writing Division’s Facebook Page | Newsletters

Leadership

John McHale | Chair 
Illinois State University 
jpmchal@ilstu.edu 

Michael Whalen | Paper Chair 
Santa Clara University 
mwhalen@scu.edu 

Antonio Zarro | Faculty Scriptwriting Chair 
Palm Beach Atlantic University 
Antonio_zarro@pba.edu 

 Jonathan D. Mabee | Student Scriptwriting Chair
Missouri State University 
jmabee@missouristate.edu 

Marty Shafer | Student Scriptwriting Co-Chair 
Oakland University 
mdshafer@oakland.edu 

Kyle Bergersen | Student Scriptwriting Co-Chair 
University of Oklahoma 
kbergersen@ou.edu 

Edward Fink | Newsletter Editor 
California State University, Fullerton 
efink@fullerton.edu