Select Page

Writing Division

The mission of the Writing Division is to provide a forum for discussion of issues pertinent to writing for electronic and other media; to develop understanding of media writing and the teaching of writing through scholarly research to be presented at panels and in an annual competition for scholarly papers at the BEA convention; to encourage student writing through an annual, national scriptwriting competition; to encourage creative writing by faculty through an annual, faculty scriptwriting competition; and to maintain a web page with a collection of media writing resources such as syllabi, scripts, grants, competitions and links to other writing resources on the web.
Division Bylaws | Division Website | Writing Division’s Facebook Page | Newsletters


Antonio Zarro | Chair
Palm Beach Atlantic University

John McHale | Vice Chair & Faculty Festival Chair
Illinois State University

Michael Whalen | Paper Competition Chair
Santa Clara University

Evan Kropp | Student Festival Co-Chair
University of Florida

Jonathan D. Mabee | Student Festival Co-Chair
Missouri State University

Mary Beth O’Connor | Recording Secretary
Purdue University Northwest Hammond Campus

Edward Fink | Newsletter Editor
California State University, Fullerton

Marty Shafer | Webmaster
Oakland University