Select Page

Sports Division

Welcome to BEA’s Sports Division, established in April 2008. For a long time sports wore the tag of the “toy store.” No serious study of the media could include a look at sports. But, times have changed. Academics as well as non-academics have seen that, for better or worse, sports are an essential element of U.S. and worldwide culture. This has led to a surge in academic organizations that recognize and embrace sports as a legitimate intellectual pursuit. A number of academic journals have been developed all devoted to sports, and schools that have sports-related classes, and even majors, are growing in number as we speak. All of those things helped spur BEA to begin a Sports Division.

 

Sports Division Bylaws | Division Website

Leadership

Tommy Booras | Chair 
Tennessee State University
tbooras@tnstate.edu

Don Piper | Vice Chair
Palm Beach Atlantic University
don_piper@pba.edu

Colin Walker | Paper Chair
Valdosta State University
colwalker@valdosta.edu

Jared Johnson | Festival Uber Chair
Oklahoma State University
jared.l.johnson@okstate.edu

Denise Belafonte-Young | Faculty Festival Chair
Lynn University
dbelafonte@lynn.edu

Chris Bacon | Student Festival Co-Chair
Middle Tennessee State University
Chris.Bacon@mtsu.edu

Lowery Woodall | Student Festival Co-Chair
Millersville University of PA
lowery.woodall@millersville.edu

Eric Esterline| Media/Website Chair
University of Florida
eesterline@jou.ufl.edu