Production Aesthetics & Criticism Division | BEA - The Broadcast Education Association
Select Page

Production Aesthetics & Criticism Division

The Production Aesthetics & Criticism Division’s purpose is the improvement of teaching and the fostering of research and innovations in audio and video production, aesthetics and criticism. The division provides a forum for the exchange of teaching techniques and material; the presentation of juried and non-juried scholarly research; the presentation of faculty and student productions; the demonstration and discussion of innovations in production equipment and techniques; and as a means of evaluation through juried competition of scholarly research and faculty production. Members are involved in the supervision of the only collegiate, association-wide, peer review faculty production competition, that provides valuable feedback and credibility often needed in promotion and tenure reviews.


Division Bylaws | PAC’s Facebook Page

Division Leadership

Stephen Price | Chair 
University of Central Missouri 

Robert Gordon | Vice Chair 
Middle Tennessee State University  

Marilyn Terzic | Senior Faculty Chair 
Université du Québec à Montréal  

Ginger Blackstone | Festival Student Chair 
Harding University  

James Lohrey | Communications Coordinator 
Shippensburg University  



Festival Leadership

Film & Video Senior/Faculty Chair:
Tony DeMars, Texas A&M University – Commerce |

Student Film & Video Chair:
Anji Phillips, Bradley University |

Animation/Experimental/Mixed Vice-Chair:
Ginger BlackstoneHarding University |

Instructional/Educational Vice-Chair:
Brent Simonds, Ilinois State University |

Music Video Vice-Chair:
Cory Byers, Southern Illinois University – Edwardsville |

Narrative Video Vice-Chair:
Phillip PowellValparaiso University |

Spots Vice-Chair (between 15 and 90 seconds):
Deb LarsonMissouri State University |

Promotional Vice-Chair (Promo material from 90 seconds to 30 minutes):
Anji Phillips, Bradley University |

Studio Vice-Chair (multi-camera or live-to-tape):
Angela CriscoeGeorgia College & State University|