Select Page

News Division

The News Division’s goals are to provide the scholar, the media practitioner and the citizen with a better understanding of the role and functions of the broadcast journalist in a free society. They seek to improve communication and understanding among working professionals, scholars and the public concerning broadcast journalism. These goals are achieved through sponsorship and encouragement of scholarly teaching and inquiry in the areas of radio and television journalism and through support of teaching and public service activities supporting free expression as stated by the First Amendment of the U.S. Constitution.

 

Division Bylaws | Division Website | News Division Facebook Page

Leadership

Nancy McKenzie Dupont | Chair
University of Mississippi
ndupont@olemiss.edu

Lydia Timmins | Vice Chair, Programming
University of Delaware
lydiat@udel.edu

Julian M. Rodriguez | Co-Vice Chair, Research
University of Texas-Arlington
jrod@uta.edu

Iveta Imre | Co-Vice Chair, Communication & Student Festival (TV News Feature)
University of Arkansas at Little Rock
iximre@ualr.edu

Tom Hallaq | Festival Vice Chair
Kansas State University
thallaq@K-State.edu

Lowrey Woodall | Student Festival (Radio Co-chair)
Millersville University of PA
lowery.woodall@millersville.edu

Ray Caputo | Student Festival (Radio Co-chair)
Bethune-Cookman University
caputoi@cookman.edu

Donna Smith | Student Festival (Hard News)
Lyndon State College
donna.smith@lsc.vsc.edu

Faith Sidlow | Student Festival (TV Anchor)
California State University-Fresno
fmsidlow@csufresno.edu

Heather Dunn | Student Festival (TV Weather)
Arizona State University
hdunn4@asu.edu

Laura Smith | Student Festival (TV Newscast, 3 days or less)
University of South Carolina
lauras@mailbox.sc.edu

Michelle McHugh | Student Festival (TV Newscast, 4 days or more)
Drexel University
pmb92@drexel.edu

Robert Mott | Student Festival (Newsmagazine)
York College of PA
rmott@ycp.edu

Katherine Hughes | Faculty Festival (News)
Elizabethtown College
Hugheska@etown.edu