Select Page

News Division

The News Division’s goals are to provide the scholar, the media practitioner and the citizen with a better understanding of the role and functions of the broadcast journalist in a free society. They seek to improve communication and understanding among working professionals, scholars and the public concerning broadcast journalism. These goals are achieved through sponsorship and encouragement of scholarly teaching and inquiry in the areas of radio and television journalism and through support of teaching and public service activities supporting free expression as stated by the First Amendment of the U.S. Constitution.

 

Division Bylaws | Division Website | News Division Facebook Page

Leadership

Lydia Timmins | Chair
University of Delaware
lydiat@udel.edu

Julian M. Rodriguez | Vice Chair, Panels
University of Texas-Arlington
jrod@uta.edu

Iveta Imre | Vice Chair, Papers
University of Mississippi
iimre@olemiss.edu

Donna Smith | Communications
Northern Vermont University – Lyndon
donna.smith@lsc.vsc.edu

 

Festival Leadership

Chandra Clark | Senior Competition Chair
University of Alabama
chandra.clark@ua.edu

Danielle Deavours | Student Festival (Radio Chair)
University of Alabama
dfdeavours@crimson.ua.edu

Donna Smith | Student Festival (Hard News)
Northern Vermont University-Lyndon
donna.smith@northernvermont.edu

Grace Provenzano | Student Festival (TV Anchor)
Iowa State University
gpro@iastate.edu

Heather Dunn | Student Festival (TV Weather)
Arizona State University
hdunn4@asu.edu

James Schiffman | Student Festival (TV Feature Co-Chair)
Georgia College & State University
James.schiffman@gcsu.edu

Christine Eschenfelder | Student Festival (TV Feature Co-Chair)
Middle Tennessee State University
Christine.Eschenfelder@mtsu.edu

Laura Smith | Student Festival (TV Newscast, 3 days or less)
University of South Carolina
lauras@mailbox.sc.edu

Michelle McHugh | Student Festival (TV Newscast, 4 days or more)
Drexel University
pmb92@drexel.edu

Meaghan Meachem | Student Festival (News Magazine)
Northern Vermont University
Meaghan.Meachem@NorthernVermont.edu

Katherine Hughes | Faculty Festival (News)
Elizabethtown College
Hugheska@etown.edu