Select Page

BEA Book Award Winner: Philip M. Napoli, Duke University

Social Media and the Public Interest: Media Regulation in the Disinformation Age

The 2020 BEA Book Award has been awarded to Philip M. Napoli, Duke University, for his latest book Social Media and the Public Interest: Media Regulation in the Disinformation Age (Columbia University Press, 2019).

Philip M. Napoli (Ph.D., Northwestern University) is the James R. Shepley Professor of Public Policy in the Sanford School of Public Policy at Duke University and a Faculty Affiliate with the DeWitt Wallace Center for Media & Democracy. Professor Napoli’s research focuses on media institutions and policy. He is the author of over 50 journal articles and several books including: Foundations of Communications Policy: Principles and Process in the Regulation of Electronic Media (Hampton Press, 2001); Audience Economics: Media Institutions and the Audience Marketplace (Columbia University Press, 2003); Audience Evolution: New Technologies and the Transformation of Media Audiences (Columbia University Press, 2011).

In Social Media and the Public Interest, Napoli offers a timely and persuasive case for understanding and governing social media as news media, with a fundamental obligation to serve the public interest.

The BEA Book Award was established in 2020 to recognize an outstanding book written by a BEA member in the field of broadcasting and mass communication. Each year the recipient will be recognized at BEA’s annual awards ceremony in Las Vegas.

About the BEA Convention – BEA’s annual convention is held in conjunction with NAB Show in Las Vegas every spring. Co-located next door at the Westgate Hotel and Casino, BEA’s annual convention attracts 1,300 educators and students with 250 sessions, events, research panels, technology workshops and an exhibit hall, making BEA the largest conference partner of NAB Show. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, BEA 2020 was held virtually. The 2020 Leibner Cooper Grant for Creative Productions on the History of Media will be recognized during an awards ceremony at BEA’s 2021 convention.