2020-2021 BEA Scholarship Winners Announced | BEA - The Broadcast Education Association
Select Page

2020-2021 BEA Scholarship Winners Announced


Ten students from nine different campuses were awarded scholarships in the Broadcast Education Association’s 2020-2021 competition.  The winners were selected by the BEA Scholarship Committee at its November 16, 2019 meeting in Washington, D.C., announced Pete Orlik, committee chair.  They include:

Abe Voron Scholarships – Sponsored by the Abe Voron Committee

Kellie Lanigan, Illinois State

Charlotte Norsworthy, University of Georgia

Kadie Spoor, Goshen College

John Bayliss Award – Sponsored by the John Bayliss Foundation

Jillian Bontjes, Indiana State

Vincent Wasilewski Scholarship – Sponsored by Patrick Communications, LLC

Danielle Deavours, University of Alabama

Edward O. Fritts Scholarship, Sponsored by BEA

Carlynn Greene, University of North Texas

BEA Founders Scholarships – Sponsored by BEA

Brian James, Richland College/Illinois State

Katie Lawrence, Ocean County College

Richard Eaton Foundation Scholarship – Sponsored by the Richard Eaton Foundation

Darina Sarelska, University of Tennessee

Peter B. Orlik Scholarship – Sponsored by BEA

Cassandra Headden, University of South Carolina

PILOT Scholarship – Sponsored by NAB’s PILOT Inititave

Trey Dickey, University of Alabama
Mariana Janjacomo Semenoff, New York University
Charlotte Norsworthy, University of Georgia
Irene Franco Rubio, Arizona State University

BEA scholarships are awarded to outstanding students for study on campuses that are institutional members of the organization.  The 2021-2022 competition begins in March 2020.