Select Page

2024 BEA Distinguished Education Service Award (DESA) Presented to Timothy J. Hudson, PhD
For Immediate Release: March 12, 2024
Contact: Heather Birks | 

Washington, D.C. – Tim Hudson, professor emeritus, Point Park University, has been named the 2024 Broadcast Education Association’s Distinguished Education Service Award (DESA) winner. 

Tim Hudson (PhD, Temple University) was Founding Dean of the Point Park University School of Communication, Founding Director of the East Carolina University School of Communication, and Associate Director of the School of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Oklahoma. Hudson was an early designer and advocate of college programs in multi-platform journalism and multimedia production. 

He has also taught at West Texas State University, Elizabethtown College, the International Academy of Broadcasting in Montreux, Switzerland, and the Maastricht Center for Transatlantic Studies in The Netherlands. 

Hudson has published articles in many scholarly journals and trade publications. He speaks around the globe on media ethics and technology, and has been awarded faculty fellowships sponsored by the National Association of Television Program Executives, Walt Disney Studios, The Broadcast Education Association, and the Oklahoma Association of Broadcasters. 

Hudson’s work as a television reporter, documentary producer and multimedia designer has been recognized by the Radio-Television News Directors Association, The National Broadcast Society, The New York Independent International Film Festival, and PBS. 

Dr. Hudson has helped secure several large corporate grants, major gifts, and numerous scholarships. He developed model procedures for recruiting talented and diverse faculties, and has consistently garnered support for media professors’ research, professional development, and international activity.  

An active member of the Broadcast Education Association since 1983; in the 1990s, he led the BEA’s influential International Multimedia Task Force. 

Now a Point Park Emeritus Professor, Dr. Hudson continues to teach and consult in the U.S. and abroad. 

The DESA is awarded to an individual who has made a significant and lasting contribution to the American system of electronic media education.  The award will be presented to Dr. Hudson during BEA’s 2024 annual convention awards ceremony on Saturday, April 13, 2024.  For a list of previous recipients and information on the DESA visit BEA’s website.   

About the BEA Convention – BEA’s annual convention is held in conjunction with NAB Show in Las Vegas every spring.  Located at the Las Vegas Convention Center, BEA’s annual convention attracts 1,200 educators and students with 250 sessions, events, research panels, technology workshops and an exhibit hall, making BEA the largest conference partner of NAB Show. 

About the Broadcast Education Association (BEA) – BEA is the premiere international academic media organization, driving insights, excellence in media production, and career advancement for educators, students, and professionals.  There are currently more than 2,300 individual and institutional members worldwide. Visit for more information.   

Verified by ExactMetrics