Congratulations to the 2023 On-Location Student Creative Competition Winners!

BEA On-Location received 121 student submissions this year across 12 competitions.  Best of Show and Award of Excellence were not awarded in all competitions. Awards are designated in competitions when the number of entries and/or total score received exceeds certain thresholds. Please click on the links of the Best of Show winners to watch and hear the winning work.


Audio Competition

Best of Show: Yasmin Nabil Hamdy, Nadeem Eldabe, Malak Kamel & Hania Wahsh, The American University in Cairo; The Voice of Child Labor

Awards of Excellence:
Alex Neill, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; The Subgenropedia: Chicano Punk

Amelia Middleton, Mississippi State University; AI and The Future Of Education

Emma Krab, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; In Our Nature: Nebraska – Whooping Crane: The King of Birds

Laila Ezz Elarab, The American University in Cairo; AI Therapy Chatbots

WOLF Sports Network Staff and Volunteers, University of West Georgia; Sports Pack Episode 27

Documentary Competition – Short Form

Best of Show: William Birks, Syracuse University; SyraCRUZ

Award of Excellence: Max Alldritt, Marlee Ebert & Jacob Ellis, Colorado State University; Faces Behind the Masks

Documentary Competition – Long Form

Best of Show: Marlee Ebert, Colorado State University; Drag is Not a Crime

Awards of Excellence:
Daniela Driscoll, Gavin Wolf & Sam Medley, Colorado State University; The Journey to One Hundred Million Smiles

Pablo Velho, University of Miami; Parodi – The Petite Museum

Ryan Ernstes, University of Colorado Boulder; Diagonal

Zach Bundy, Ball State University; I Am Me

Film & Video Competition – Music Videos

Best of Show: Lizette Bulthuis, Gail Cox, Marissa Williams, Christina Russell & De’Ariss Hope, Taylor University; 3AM in Cincy

Award of Excellence: Zacheriah Lloyd, Mississippi State University; Down to the River

Film & Video Competition – Narrative

Best of Show: Kaitlyn St. Hilaire, Keenan Jackson, Nathan Zimmer, Hailey Howgate, Elizabeth Cordone & Gia Guido, Ithaca College; Coin Flip

Awards of Excellence:
Cassidy Caratiini, Kevin Watkins, Pail Adebajo, Shem Grant & Luis Roque; University of West Georgia, 212°

Joseph Zakaria, Jolie Peal, Emma Thurston, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; What Happened to Emma?

Pablo Velho, University of Miami; Lucas

Seanna White, Kevin Watkins, Andi Sarna & Matthew Simpson, University of West Georgia; Scene 4A

Trevor Cebulskie, Anna Rodman, Franklin Snyder & Michael Carroll, Taylor University; Hostage

Wesley Rolfe and Ante Meridium Studios, University of Arkansas Fayetteville; BANG!

Zachary Nusimow, Cletus Tepas IV, Melinda Brancato, SUNY – Oswego; I Gave Al Roker an Al Roker Sub in Front of the Al Roker Studio

Film & Video Competition – Promo/PSA/Commercial

Best of Show: Kaitlin Kadavy & Karston Chase, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Librarian Resource Guide

Awards of Excellence:
Anna Rodman, Andrew Edwards, Michael Carroll & Ethan Ochs, Taylor University; Grant County Economic Growth Council Job Search Series: Job Fair

Elizabeth Hendrix, Grace Van Rij & Tyler Huff, Furman University; Jeni’s

Jason Lozada, Syracuse University; Infodemic Opening Video

Jill Lamkins, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Giving Blood

Tanner Dykstra, Jenna Gruber, Kaitlin Kadavy, Skyler Peterson & Max Wudel, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; How to Use iTrace

Interactive Multimedia Competition

Award of Excellence: The Infodemic Staff, Syracuse University; Infodemic

News Competition – Radio

Best of Show: Amelia Middleton, Mississippi State University; Chat GPT tempts college students

Awards of Excellence:
Bousaina Ibrahim, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; What is Critical Race Theory and Why Black Studies?

Clarissa Karki, SUNY – Oswego; Nuclear Power: Is it Clean Energy?

Olivia Beck, Mississippi State University; National Student Employment Week

News Competition – Television

Best of Show: Clarissa Karki, SUNY – Oswego; Operetta: Lost, Found, Now on Stage

Awards of Excellence:
Anne Gallagher, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Explaining Composting

Jackson Mooney, Meg Hepper & Tyler Clark, Colorado State University; Capernaum

Jill Lamkins, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; UNL Foodie Competition

Kloee Sander, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Ramadan Market

Kloee Sander, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Two-Man Railroad Crews & The Nebraska Legislature

Morrissey Walsh, York College of Pennsylvania; Ripken Baseball Clinic

Rebecca Heckel, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Passion for Quilts

News Competition – Television Newscast

Best of Show: Jill Lamkins, Macy Neumeister, Lance Vie, Emma Thurston & Sam Alessandro, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Nebraska Nightly Election 2022 Update (10 pm)

Sports Competition

Best of Show (tie): Connor Clark & Dillon Pelster, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Huskers MBB vs. Boston College

Best of Show (tie): Matthew Fairfax & Ryan Nelson, Syracuse University; Syracuse Men’s Lacrosse vs. Hobart – ACCN Halftime Show

Awards of Excellence:
Cam Hamer, Furman University; Perseverance Episode 2

Liam Dupas, Aaron Chan & Julian Dupas, Elon University; The Inspirational Story of Finn Curren-Ng’asi

Matthew Fairfax & Ryan Nelson, Syracuse University; Syracuse Women’s Basketball vs. Virginia – ACCN Halftime Show

Nathan Hawkins, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Matt Ruhle Comes to Lincoln

Tien Tran, Syracuse University; Home

VR, AR & 360° Video Competition

Awards of Excellence:
Aaron Falls, Savannah Nagy & Melissa Borgerding, University of South Carolina; “Looking Forward” Garnet & Black Spring 2023 Cover

Shannon Kirkpatrick, Syracuse University; Virtual Camping Space