Congratulations to the 2023 On-Location Faculty Creative Winners!

BEA’s 2023 On-Location faculty competition received 27 student submissions across 6 competitions.  The acceptance rate for Best of Show and Award of Excellence was 37%. Best of Show and Award of Excellence was not awarded in all competitions. In order to maintain a respectable acceptance rate, awards are designated in competitions when the number of entries and/or total score received exceeds certain thresholds. Best of Show winners will have an opportunity to participate in a creative competition panel at the 2023 On-Location conference. Please click on the links of the Best of Show winners to watch and hear the winning work. 

Audio Competition

Best of Show: Ben Bogardus, Quinnipiac University; Reporting on 9/11 Ep. 3: Suzanne Kennedy – “Carrying a Secret”

Awards of Excellence:
Ben Bogardus, Quinnipiac University; Reporting on 9/11 Ep. 9: Jon Rosen – “Managing It”

Glenn T. Hubbard & Jeremy Cayton, East Carolina University; Talk to the Hand

Jason Lee Guthrie, Clayton State University; From Plains To President

Documentary Competition

Best of Show: Barney McCoy, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Seven Years A Correspondent

Award of Excellence: Ben Corbett & Ringo Jones, University of Arkansas Fayetteville; The Arkansas Accent Project

Film & Video Competition

Awards of Excellence:
Andrew Twibell, Rachel Bartel & Kong Thao, Missouri State University; Blue Dot

Gregory Bray, SUNY – New Paltz; Escapism

News & Sports Competition

Best of Show: Darren Sweeney, Central Connecticut State University; Using AR To Tell The Story

VR, AR, and 360° Video Competition

Best of Show: Jason Porter, Evan Meaney & Jeanne Britton, University of South Carolina; Piranesi’s Worlds