24th Kenneth Harwood Outstanding Dissertation Award

Call for Nominations

Deadline: January 5, 2015

For 60 years, the Broadcast Education Association (BEA) has been an association of university professors and industry professionals who teach and prepare students for professions in broadcasting and related emerging technologies. BEA seeks nominations for the 24thAnnual Kenneth Harwood Outstanding Dissertation Award.  Established by Kenneth Harwood, Professor at the University of Houston and a former President of the BEA, the award offers $1,000 for the outstanding Ph.D. dissertation in broadcasting and electronic media. The award was established through gifts started by Professor Harwood and a donation from a friend of BEA.

Nominees must have been awarded the Ph.D. degree between January 1, 2014 and December 31, 2014. Dissertations nominated for the award without the support of the dissertation director or department chair will not be considered.

Nomination materials can be received by email to BEA no later than Monday, January 5, 2015.

Submissions must include the following two items:

  • A PDF letter of nomination from the dissertation director or department chair of the degree-granting institution. (Send seven copies if you plan to mail the letter to BEA.)
  • A PDF of the full dissertation (including abstract). (Send seven copies if you send the dissertation by mail, and note that the copies will not be returned.)

Submissions not following these guidelines will not be considered for the award. Contact the BEA Publications Committee Chair, Paul Haridakispharidak@kent.edu if you have any questions.

Only dissertations completed at BEA member institutions are eligible for the award. To check if your university is a BEA institutional member, call Traci Bailey at (202) 602-0587 or email traci@beaweb.org.

The recipient will be recognized at the BEA2015 Awards Ceremony held in Las Vegas at the Westgate Las Vegas Resort on April 12, 2015. BEA encourages those whose are nominated to attend the BEA2015 Annual Convention April 12 – 15, 2015.

Please email all letters and dissertations to: upload.2015_Ha.3za5cde2j9@u.box.com


Past Winners

2014 - Lauren Bratslavsky, University of Oregon; From ephemeral to legitimate: An inquiry into television's material traces in archival spaces, 1950s-1970s

2013 - Shane Tilton, Ohio University; "First year students in a foreign fabric: A triangulation study on Facebook as a method of coping/adjustment."

2012 - Beth C. Fratkin, University of Utah; "The Impact of Federal Communications Commission Practices on Communication Policy Making 2001-2004: An Investigation of the Policy Shift From Public Service Idealism to Market Forces Pragmatism"

2011 - Joy Chavez Mapaye, University of Alaska, Anchorage; “Viral Viewers: Examining Parasocial Interaction on Local TV News Web Sites”

2010 - Pamela Hill Nettleton, Marquette University; "Rescuing Men: The New Television Masculinity in 'Rescue Me,' 'Nip/Tuck,' 'The Shield,' 'Boston Legal' and 'Dexter.' "

2009 - Shawn VanCour, University of Wisconsin; "The Sounds of 'Radio': A Cultural History of Radio's Aesthetic Definition as a Broadcast Medium for Aural Communications in 1920s America."

2008 - Ronald J. “Noah” Arceneaux, University of Georgia; “Department Stores and the Origins of American Broadcasting, 1910–1931”

2007 - Mary McIlrath, University of California, Santa Barbara; "Children's cognitive processing of internet advertising"

2006 - Kevin D. Williams, University of Georgia; "How Violence and Frustration in Video Games Affect Aggression"

2004 - Tanja Estella Bosch, Ohio University; “Radio, community and identity in South Africa: A rhizomatic study of Bush Radio in Cape Town”

2003 - John Armstrong, University of California at Berkeley; "Localism, Community, and Commercial Television, 1948-1960: A Value Analysis."

2002 - Jacob J. Podber, Ohio University; "Radio’s Development in Rural America."

2001 - Paul Haridakis, Kent State University; "The Role of Motivation in Policy Considerations Addressing Television Violence"

2000 - Vic Costello, University of Tennessee; "Interactivity and the 'Cyber-Fan': An Exploration of Audience Involvement Within the Electronic Fan Culture of the Internet."

1999 - Matt Jackson, Indiana University; “Controlling Technology: Internet Service Providers and Copyright Liability.”

1997 - Patricia F. Phalen, Northwestern University; "Information and Markets and the Market for Information: An Analysis of the Market for Television Audiences"

1996 - Steven D. Classen, University of Wisconsin; "Broadcast Law and Segregation: A Social History of the WLBT-TV Case"

1994 -Michael Edward Lenert, The University of Texas; "The paradox of public: The public and the public interest in communication technology regulation in the United States, 1934 - 1988."