The John Bayliss Foundation Scholarship

General History

On October 25, 2010, The Board of Directors of The John Bayliss Broadcast Foundation announced that the Broadcast Education Association (BEA) has been selected to administer the Bayliss Radio Scholarship Fund to ensure the perpetuation of the Foundation’s educational mission to support students preparing for a career in radio. The Foundation was created in honor of John Bayliss, a 25-year radio industry veteran who generously shared his appreciation for the medium by encouraging college students to pursue a career in radio. Since 1985, the Foundation has distributed more than $1.2 million in scholarships to 345 exceptional students. These students were selected to receive the Bayliss Radio Scholarship because of their academic achievement and extracurricular radio activities, their passion for radio and their desire to contribute to the overall advancement of the radio industry.

The Bayliss Foundation’s Board of Directors has appointed a liaison committee to work with BEA. Committee members Bishop Cheen, Wells Fargo Securities, David Kennedy, FlyCast Inc. and Larry Patrick, Patrick Communications Corp. will operate under this new structure until industry conditions permit a return to a self-governing independent entity. The scholarships will be selected by BEA’s Scholarship Committee currently chaired by Pete Orlik, Central Michigan University.



Previous Bayliss Initiatives,Facts, & Events