New Faculty Research Grant | BEA - The Broadcast Education Association
Select Page

New Faculty Research Grant

BEA’s New Faculty Research Grant (NFRG) seeks to promote scholarship through achievement by untenured broadcast and electronic media faculty. Every  year a cash grant of $1,000 is awarded for research projects as described below.

Initial funding for this grant was provided by Rebecca Hayden, winner of BEA’s Distinguished Education Service Award in 1993, and long-time editor/publisher of broadcast and media books at Wadsworth Publishing Co. The grant honors the memory of Sydney W. Head (1913-1991) and Harrison B. Summers (1894-1980), two key pioneers in broadcast education. Over time it is hoped that the scope of funded research will encompass technology, law and policy, audience studies, international and foreign systems, production and a variety of other media areas

DEADLINE: January 15, 2023

Proposals:  Proposals may be for qualitative or quantitative research, preferably leading to results that help improve education in broadcasting and electronic media, and/or help implement change in those media industries.


  1. Have completed their final academic degree
  2. Served as an assistant professor (or equivalent) for at least one academic year
  3. Not yet be under review for tenure
  4. Be a BEA member or on the faculty of a BEA member school. To check if your university is a BEA institutional member Click here for a list of BEA Member Schools

Winners will be provided with a complimentary registration to attend an awards ceremony at BEA’s annual convention in Las Vegas, NV. 

Application Process:  All applications for the BEA NFRG must include the following:

  1. Complete online submission form including specifics on your research.
  2. Current curriculum vitae showing all research done to date.
  3. Letter from applicant’s chair/dean/senior colleague attesting to research, teaching and service record thus far.

Submissions not following these guidelines will not be considered for the award.

Judging Process:  Completed applications will be judged primarily on their academic promise, as well as indications of the applicant’s effectiveness as a researcher and teacher. BEA will appoint a Research Grant Selection Panel consisting of senior faculty and industry leaders. The award will be announced at the BEA Convention, but winners will be notified in advance to make plans to attend the convention.

Click here to access the online application.



2020: Roxane Coche, University of Florida
2018: Christine C. Eschenfelder, Middle Tennessee State University
2016: Miao Gao, Ball State University
2014: Bridget Rubenking, University of Central Florida
2012: Sara Magee, Loyola University Maryland
2010: Serena Carpenter, Arizona State University