31st Kenneth Harwood Dissertation Award Call for Nominations | BEA - The Broadcast Education Association
Select Page

For over 60 years, the Broadcast Education Association (BEA) has been an association of university professors and industry professionals who teach and prepare students for professions in broadcasting and related emerging technologies. BEA seeks nominations for the 31st Annual Kenneth Harwood Outstanding Dissertation Award.  Established by Kenneth Harwood, Professor at the University of Houston and a former President of the BEA, the award offers $1,000 for the outstanding Ph.D. dissertation in broadcasting and electronic media. The award was established through gifts started by Professor Harwood and a donation from a friend of BEA.  The recipient will be recognized at BEA annual convention in April.

Nominees must have been awarded the Ph.D. degree between January 1, 2021 and December 31, 2021. Dissertations nominated for the award without the support of the dissertation director or department chair will not be considered.  Contact Glenda Balas if you have any questions.

Nomination materials must be received by January 15, and must include the following two items:

  • A PDF letter of nomination from the dissertation director or department chair of the degree-granting institution. (Send seven copies if you plan to mail the letter to BEA.)
  • A PDF of the full dissertation (including abstract).

Submissions not following these guidelines will not be considered for the award. Only dissertations completed at BEA member institutions are eligible for the award.  To check if your university is a BEA institutional member Click here for a list of BEA Member Schools

Glenda Balas
BEA Research Committee Chair
University of North Texas – Dallas
Please upload letters and dissertations with the name of the nominee on all files, and include a brief description of the document in the description box below (ie. Nomination Letter for XXXX):