2021-2022 Award & Competition Deadlines | BEA - The Broadcast Education Association
Select Page

2021-2022 Award & Competition Deadlines


2022/2023 BEA Scholarshipsoffering $28,000 in scholarships to both undergraduate and graduate students attending BEA member institutions.  Applications and information are online.  Deadline: Oct. 15, 2021

BEA Film 48 invites BEA Student Media Clubs to unleash their creativity for #BEAfilm48, a 48-hour film festival taking place in the fall.  Sign up by: October 18, 2021

The BEA Festival of Media Arts is an international digital media and broadcast competition for faculty and students from around the world. Work is showcased at BEA’s convention in Las Vegas.  “Best of” winners receive $1,000. Sponsored by the King Family Foundation. Submissions Accepted: November 15 – December 15, 2021

The Dr. Marjorie Yambor Signature Station Competition are sponsored by BEA’s Student Media Advisors division.  The competition invites submissions of superior protocol and practices at student-run, faculty-advised college radio and television stations. Accepting Submissions: November 15 – December 15, 2021

Broadcast Historian AwardThe Library of American Broadcasting Foundation (LABF) and BEA partner for the annual Broadcast Historian Award.  With the support of LABF, BEA awards $5,000 to an educator who has published a book specifically related to broadcast history.  To qualify for the 2022 award, the book must have been published between Jan. 1, 2019 and Nov. 30, 2021.  Deadline: December 15, 2021

The Leibner Cooper Grant for Creative Productions on the History of Media Grant awards a $2,500 grant to a faculty member who is producing a documentary, news story, multimedia project or sports production focused on historical issues, figures and/or events related to media. Deadline: December 15, 2021

Kenneth Harwood Outstanding Dissertation Award, now in its 30th year, offers $1,000 for the outstanding Ph.D. dissertation in broadcasting and electronic media. The award was established through gifts started by Professor Kenneth Harwood and donations from friends of BEA.  Deadline: January 15, 2022

Distinguished Education Service Award (DESA), in its 39th year, is awarded to an individual who has made significant and lasting contributions to the American system of electronic media education by a singular achievement or continuing service of electronic media education. Deadline: January 15, 2022

Lifetime Achievement in Scholarship nominees should have made a significant contribution to research and scholarship involving broadcast and electronic media. Contributions should be evidenced by related publication in books and journals, over at least twenty years. Deadline: January 15, 2022

BEA Audio Shorts Competition invites BEA Student Media Club Members to create compelling audio stories in 48-hours on February 22-24, 2021 – #BEAshortdocs.  Enter by: February 14, 2022