New Faculty Research Grant

BEA’s New Faculty Research Grant (NFRG) seeks to promote scholarship through achievement by untenured broadcast and electronic media faculty. A cash grant of $1,000 for research projects as described below is awarded every two years to the winner.

Initial funding for this grant was provided by Rebecca Hayden, winner of BEA’s Distinguished Education Service Award in 1993, and long-time editor/publisher of broadcast and media books at Wadsworth Publishing Co. The grant honors the memory of Sydney W. Head (1913-1991) and Harrison B. Summers (1894-1980), two key pioneers in broadcast education. Over time it is hoped that the scope of funded research will encompass technology, law and policy, audience studies, international and foreign systems, production and a variety of other media areas.

Nomination Deadline: January 11, 2018


2014: Bridget Rubenking, University of Central Florida
2012: Sara Magee, Loyola University Maryland
2010: Serena Carpenter, Arizona State University