Select Page



Washington, D.C. – At the November 2015 BEA Board Meeting, a new executive committee was elected to serve the BEA membership.  The terms for the newly elected executive committee members will begin at BEA2016 in Las Vegas this April.  Please join us in congratulating the new executive committee officers:

President — Augie Grant, University of South Carolina
Vice President for Academic Relations – Michael Bruce, University of Alabama
Vice President for Industry Relations – Christine H. Merritt, Ohio Association of Broadcasters
Secretary-Treasurer – Gregory N. Luft, Colorado State University
Immediate Past President – John Allen Hendricks, Stephen F. Austin State University

In April 2016, Barry Umansky, Ball State University, will be rotating off the executive committee upon completion of his term as Immediate Past President.

BEA’s executive committee will begin their term in April along with the following District Representatives that were elected (and/or re-elected) this past October:

District 2 – Vic Costello, Elon University Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina & Tennessee  District 4 — Susan Smith, Ball State University   Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota & Wisconsin

District 6 — Kim Zarkin, Westminster College Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington & Wyoming

District 8 — Kim Fox, American University in Cairo  All International Programs

BEA thanks Barry Umansky, Ball State University, Joe Blaney, Illinois State University, Deborah Wilson David, University of Lincoln and Ric Harris, NBC Universal, for their service on the BEA board.  They are rotating off the board in April 2016. Click here to see the current BEA Board of Directors.