Kenneth Harwood Outstanding Dissertation Award | BEA - The Broadcast Education Association
Select Page

Kenneth Harwood Outstanding Dissertation Award

The Kenneth Harwood Outstanding Dissertation Award is an academic prize awarded each year by the Broadcast Education Association for the best doctoral dissertation in field of broadcasting and electronic media. The prize was established by Kenneth Harwood, Professor at the University of Houston and a former President of the BEA. The award offers $1,000 for the outstanding Ph.D. dissertation in broadcasting and electronic media. The award was established through gifts started by Professor Harwood and a donation from a friend of BEA.

As part of our 60th anniversary celebration in 2015, BEA recognized Kenneth Harwood and his annual Harwood Dissertation Award.  We want to ensure its positive influence on the lives of newly minted electronic media Ph.D.’s by creating a permanent endowment. Thanks to the support of Taylor & Francis, BEA’s past presidents, board of directors and countless members, BEA continues the campaign.

Click here to make your donation.

BEA is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.  No goods or services were provided in return for this contribution.  Donations are tax-deductible to the extent allowed by law.

The 2023 Kenneth Harwood Outstanding Dissertation Call for Nominations.

The submission deadline is January 15, 2023.

Harwood Award Recipients

2022 – Danielle Deavours, University of Montevallo; Not Just What You Say, But How You Say It: Neutrality of Nonverbal Behavior of Journalists During Crisis Coverage

2021 – Yonatan Tewelde, Ohio University; Chatroom Nation: an Eritrean Case Study of a Diaspora PalTalk Public

2020 – Cristi Eschler-Freudenrich, Oral Roberts University; What Was Left on the Cutting Room Floor: Rhetorical Themes of Race in Oral Roberts’ 1956 Crusade Sermons

2019 – Flora Khoo, Regent University; Innocence Killed: Recruitment, Radicalization and Desensitization of the Children of the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria

2018 – Julia Largent, McPherson College; Documentary Dialogues: Establishing a Conceptual Framework for Analyzing Documentary Fandom-Filmmaker Social Media Interaction

2017 – Ginger Blackstone, Harding University; “The Worst of Times”: The Prevalence and Power of Fear in Television News

2016 – Melinda Michele Krakow, University of Utah; Telling Stories for Cervical Cancer Prevention: The Impact of Narrative Features and Processes on Young Women’s HPV Vaccination Intentions

2015 – David Crider, Temple University; Constructing and Performing an On-Air Radio Identity in a Changing Media Landscape

2014 – Lauren Bratslavsky, University of Oregon; From ephemeral to legitimate: An inquiry into television’s material traces in archival spaces, 1950s-1970s

2013 – Shane Tilton, Ohio University; First year students in a foreign fabric: A triangulation study on Facebook as a method of coping/adjustment


2012 – Beth C. Fratkin, University of Utah; The Impact of Federal Communications Commission Practices on Communication Policy Making 2001-2004: An Investigation of the Policy Shift From Public Service Idealism to Market Forces Pragmatism

2011 – Joy Chavez Mapaye, University of Alaska, Anchorage; Viral Viewers: Examining Parasocial Interaction on Local TV News Web Sites

2010 – Pamela Hill Nettleton, Marquette University; Rescuing Men: The New Television Masculinity in ‘Rescue Me,’ ‘Nip/Tuck,’ ‘The Shield,’ ‘Boston Legal’ and ‘Dexter’

2009 – Shawn VanCour, University of Wisconsin; The Sounds of ‘Radio’: A Cultural History of Radio’s Aesthetic Definition as a Broadcast Medium for Aural Communications in 1920s America

2008 – Ronald J. “Noah” Arceneaux, University of Georgia; Department Stores and the Origins of American Broadcasting, 1910–1931

2007 – Mary McIlrath, University of California, Santa Barbara; Children’s cognitive processing of internet advertising

2006 – Kevin D. Williams, University of Georgia; How Violence and Frustration in Video Games Affect Aggression

2004 – Tanja Estella Bosch, Ohio University; Radio, community and identity in South Africa: A rhizomatic study of Bush Radio in Cape Town


2003 – John Armstrong, University of Utah; Localism, Community, and Commercial Television, 1948-1960: A Value Analysis

2002 – Jacob J. Podber, Ohio University; Radio’s Development in Rural America

2001 – Paul Haridakis, Kent State University; The Role of Motivation in Policy Considerations Addressing Television Violence

2000 – Vic Costello, University of Tennessee; Interactivity and the ‘Cyber-Fan’: An Exploration of Audience Involvement Within the Electronic Fan Culture of the Internet

1999 – Matt Jackson, Indiana University; Controlling Technology: Internet Service Providers and Copyright Liability

1997 – Patricia F. Phalen, Northwestern University; Information and Markets and the Market for Information: An Analysis of the Market for Television Audiences

1996 – Steven D. Classen, University of Wisconsin; Broadcast Law and Segregation: A Social History of the WLBT-TV Case

1994 -Michael Edward Lenert, The University of Texas; The paradox of public: The public and the public interest in communication technology regulation in the United States, 1934 – 1988