2016 BEA Distinguished Education Service Award (DESA) Presented to Routledge/Taylor & Francis Publisher Linda Bathgate | BEA - The Broadcast Education Association
Select Page

2016 BEA Distinguished Education Service Award (DESA) Presented to Routledge/Taylor & Francis Publisher Linda Bathgate


Washington, D.C. – Linda Bathgate, Publisher of the Communication list for Routledge/Taylor & Francis, has been named the 2016 Broadcast Education Association’s Distinguished Education Service Award (DESA) winner.

Bathgate has held the role of publisher at Routledge/Taylor & Francis since 2010, having previously served as Senior Acquisitions Editor at both Taylor & Francis and Lawrence Erlbaum Associates (acquired by Taylor & Francis in 2006). In her 20 years as a publisher and editor in the communication discipline, Bathgate has been responsible for publishing more than 300 books in the fields of broadcasting, journalism, media, and mass communications. Her impact on the field goes far beyond the sphere of these books, as she has provided guidance and publication opportunities for an equal number of scholars whose careers have hinged on these publications.

Bathgate has also been responsible for facilitating the publication of premiere journals in our discipline such as the Journal of Broadcasting and Electronic Media; Journal of Radio Studies; Mass Communication and Society; Visual Communication Quarterly; Communication Law and Policy; Journal of Media Economics, Journal of Public Relations Research; and Journal of Mass Media Ethics. She is also known for her efforts to create new journals for “developing” areas of our discipline including Communication Methods and Measures; Media Psychology; Journal of Family Communication; Journal of Media and Religion; Electronic News; and the International Journal of Strategic Communication. She serves on the BEA Research Committee and oversees publication of the volumes in the Electronic Media Research Series, published in cooperation with BEA after its annual Research Symposium. She also works with other associations and series editors to produce resources for the discipline, including the New Agendas in Communication series with the University of Texas at Austin, and the annual Communication Yearbook with the International Communication Association (ICA).

“It is almost impossible to count the number of academic careers she has aided,” said BEA Vice President for Academic Relations Augie Grant. “Linda’s guidance has been invaluable to everyone in our field, from first-time authors to our top scholars. Quite simply, our field has been more productive because of Linda and her input.”

Prior to her current position at Routledge/Taylor & Francis, Linda served in the role of Senior Acquisitions Editor (2002-2010) and Acquisitions Editor (1997-2002), having started in the communication discipline with Lawrence Erlbaum Associates (LEA). She began her publishing career at John Wiley & Sons, Inc., in New York, starting as Editorial Assistant for the architecture list in 1991 and achieving the role of Associate Editor in 1995. She holds a master’s degree in Publishing from Pace University and has served as an Adjunct Professor in the Publishing Program at that institution.

The DESA is awarded to an individual who has made a significant and lasting contribution to the American system of electronic media education.  The award will be presented to Bathgate at BEA’s 2016 annual convention ceremony in Las Vegas on Sunday, April 17, 2016.  For a list of previous recipients and information on the DESA visit BEA’s website.

About the BEA Convention – BEA’s annual convention is held in conjunction with NAB Show in Las Vegas every spring.  Co-located next door at the Westgate Hotel and Casino, BEA’s annual convention attracts 1,200 educators and students with 200 sessions, events, research panels, technology workshops and an exhibit hall, making BEA the largest conference partner of NAB Show.

About the Broadcast Education Association (BEA) – BEA is the professional association for professors, industry professionals and graduate students interested in teaching and research related to electronic media and multimedia enterprises. There are currently more than 2,500 individual and institutional members worldwide. Visit www.beaweb.org  for more information.