BEA Awards

Broadcast Historian Award The Library of American Broadcasting Foundation (LABF) and BEA partner for the annual Broadcast Historian Award.  With the support of LABF, BEA awards $5,000 to an educator who has published a book specifically related to broadcast history.  To qualify for the 2018 award, the work must have been published between January 1, 2015 and November 30, 2017.  Entry Deadline: December 1, 2017

Signature Station Competition invites submissions of superior protocol and practices at studentrun, faculty-advised college radio and television stations. The main mission is to identify and impart areas of excellence in the hands-on facilitation of station functions such as philosophical engagement, community involvement, programming arrangement, branding/logo development,
student management, volunteer recruitment, and broadcast equipment. Entry Deadline: December 15, 2017

Annual Distinguished Education Service Award (DESA) is awarded to an individual who has made significant and lasting contributions to the American system of electronic media education by a singular achievement or continuing service of electronic media education. Nomination Deadline: January 11, 2018

Lifetime Achievement in Scholarship nominees should have made a significant contribution to research and scholarship involving broadcast and electronic media. Contributions should be evidenced by related publication in books and journals, over at least twenty years. Nomination Deadline: January 11, 2018

Annual Kenneth Harwood Outstanding Dissertation Award offers $1,000 for the outstanding Ph.D. dissertation in broadcasting and electronic media. The award was established through gifts started by Professor Kenneth Harwood and donations from friends of BEA.  Submission Deadline: January 11, 2018

New Faculty Research Grant (NFRG) seeks to promote scholarship through achievement by untenured broadcast and electronic media faculty. A cash grant of $1,000 for research projects as described below is awarded every two years to the winner. Nomination Deadline: January 11, 2018

The Leibner Cooper Grant for Creative Productions on the History of Media Grant awards a $2,500 grant to a faculty member who is producing a documentary, news story, multimedia project or sports production focused on historical issues, figures and/or events related to media. Deadline: January 22, 2018