Broadcast Education Association - Educating for Tomorrow's Media



    Distinguished Education Service Award




    Each year the Distinguished Education Service Award (DESA) is awarded to an individual who has made a significant and lasting contribution to the American system of electronic media education by virtue of a singular achievement or continuing service for or in behalf of electronic media education. Awards are presented at a ceremony during the BEA annual conference in Las Vegas each April.

    Call For Nominations


    Previous winners

    2014 Dr. Douglas A. Boyd, University of Kentucky
    2013 Dr. Robert K. Avery, University of Utah
    Dr. William Christ, Trinity University
    Diana King, The Charles and Lucile King Foundation
    Louisa Nielsen, Former BEA Executive Director
    2009 Michael D. Murray, UM Board of Curators Professor, University of Missouri-St. Louis
    2008 Donald G. Godfrey, Professor, Arizona State University
    2007 Dan Rather, Dan Rather Reports, HD.Net
    2006 Mike Donovan, Professor, Rowan University & King Foundation
    2005 W. Lawrence Patrick, Media Broker, Broadcaster & Professor
    2004 Herbert "Herb" Zettl, Emeritus Professor, San Francisco State University
    2003 Joyce Tudryn, Broadcast Association Professional
    2002 Norman J. Pattiz, Broadcaster
    2001 Peter Orlik, Professor
    2000 Herbert Howard, Professor
    1999 Joe S. Foote, Professor
    1998 Lawrence Lichty, Professor
    1997 Lynne Shafer Gross, Professor
    1996 Lewis Klein, Broadcaster
    1995 Stanley Donner, Professor
    Patricia Cranston, Professor
    1993 Rebecca Hayden, Publishing Professional
    1992 Christopher H. Sterling, Professor
    1991 Stan McKenzie, Broadcaster
    1990 John Michael Kittross, Professor
    1989 Wally Dunlap and Clark Pollack, Broadcasters
    1988 Bruce Linton, Professor
    1987 Erwin Krasnow, Communications Attorney
    1986 Ken Harwood, Professor
    1985 Thomas Bolger, Broadcaster
    1984 Vincent Wasilewski, Broadcaster
    1983 Sydney Head, Professor
    1982 Harold Niven, Broadcast Association Professional